Submission Listings

Call for Nominations for OALA Honours and Awards 2017

Submission Type:
Competitions & Awards
Posting Date:
Deadline Date:
Submission Details:

Please take some time to consider nominating a fellow member. In addition to the OALA Awards being an important peer recognition, members also list these achievements when submitting proposals.

Also of interest is the composition of the Honours, Awards, and Protocol Committee. In addition to the Chair/Past President (Sarah Culp); Notable members at large: Jane Welsh, Jim Melvin and Nelson Edwards; we have expanded to include the following representative positions to enhance the evaluations of the award nomination submissions and selection process: President (Doris Chee), Associate Rep. (Justin Whalen) and Lay Councillor (Linda Thorne).

This awards program is an excellent opportunity to celebrate our profession and show off our best works to all!

The Ontario Association of Landscape Architects (OALA) Honours and Awards are the highest recognition the association can bestow on its members, and non-landscape architectural individuals, groups and organizations. These honours and awards not only recognize deserving recipients, but is a program that highlights significant accomplishments in advancing the profession to its members and those in the general public. Each OALA member plays an important part in the success and integrity of the program by identifying and nominating deserving candidates from the various awards.

The program culminates as a formal presentation at the 2017 OALA AGM & Conference on Friday, March 31st in Ottawa.

The honours and awards to be considered are:

  • Pinnacle Award for Landscape Architectural Excellence
  • The David Erb Memorial Award
  • Public Practice Award
  • The OALA Award for Service to the Environment
  • The OALA Carl Borgstrom Award for Service to the Environment
  • The OALA Research & Innovation Award
  • The OALA Jack Copeland Award for Associate Leadership and Contribution
  • Emeritus Member
  • Honourary Member

Kindly submit your nominations or suggestions to the OALA office, addressed to the Honours, Awards and Protocol Committee, chaired by Past President, Sarah Culp.

The HAP Committee forwards all recommendations to Council for final approval.

Award criteria can be found here. 


Nomination for the David Erb Memorial Award
Nomination for the OALA Research & Innovation Award
Nomination for the OALA Jack Copeland Award for Associate Leadership and Contribution
Nomination for Emeritus Member
Nomination for Honourary Member

Award Screening Chart – View the screening chart used by the HAP Committee to evaluate the submissions
Full list of all previous OALA Award recipients