Welcome to the new OALA website! Please click here to read the FAQ
Bank of Canada Head Office Renewal, DTAH

Call for OALA Award Nominations

Read the Call for Nominations

The OALA Honours and Awards are the highest recognition the Association can bestow on its members and the general public. Each OALA member plays an important part in the integrity and success of the program by identifying and nominating deserving candidates for the various awards. These awards complement the CSLA Awards and Honors Program which recognizes the work of members.

OALA members are invited to nominate deserving fellow members and others for awards and honours, to be presented at the 2023 OALA Awards Ceremony. There are several awards to be considered that are described below.  All nominations shall meet the eligibility criteria of the awards listed below.  Submit the nominations to the OALA office addressed to the Honours, Awards and Protocol (HAP) Committee, chaired by the immediate Past President. The committee will review all nominations and then forward its recommendations to Council.  Council will then vote on the recommendations and winners are selected.

Nominations may be made at any time and will be reviewed at the earliest possible opportunity.

2023 Awards Nomination

Deadline: January 6, 2023 

Note: Additional extensions may be offered at the discretion of the HAP Committee where additional time is requested or required for a complete nomination.

The awards:

  1. OALA Pinnacle Award for Landscape Architectural Excellence
  2. OALA Emeritus Member
  3. OALA Public Practice Award
  4. The David Erb Memorial Award
  5. The Jack Copeland Award for OALA Associate Leadership and Contribution
  6. The Carl Borgstrom Award for Service to the Environment
  7. OALA Award for Community Service to the Environment
  8. OALA Research & Innovation Award
  9. OALA Honorary Member

All OALA members who are nominated must be in good standing with the OALA to receive the award.  Nominees’ membership status will be confirmed with the OALA Registrar prior to recommendation to Council.

To view past winners of all OALA Awards, please see the OALA Awards Archive.